Halloween: The Teen Treat Dilemma

With Halloween fast approaching (it’s tomorrow!), I keep seeing posts on both sides of the fence about who people hand candy out to.

I’ll set the scene. It’s 7 pm, Trick-or-treating is halfway done, roughly. The doorbell goes off. You rush to the door with your big bowl of tiny snickers and suckers. You open the door. You see 3 teenagers all dressed up, the complete works. Gorey make up, amazing costumes. What do you do? Do you hand them candy or do you close the door in their face?

Well, let me tell you what I would do – GIVE THEM CANDY!

Anyone who shows up at my door during trick-or-treating hours gets candy. No exceptions. Brand new baby who doesn’t eat candy… here is some for mom and dad. Teenager? Here ya go. I’m like Oprah with candy! YOU GET SOME! YOU GET SOME!

I cannot begin to understand why someone would deny ANYONE candy on Halloween. Maybe someone can explain it to me? Do we call these people Karen’s? I think we should.

Children are only children for so long. We keep rushing kids to grow up.

Our kids are learning that Santa isn’t real much earlier than when I was a kid. Same with the Easter bunny and Tooth Fairy. It’s sad.

Some kids just want to hold onto their innocence just a little bit longer, and I don’t see an issue with that at all.

I have been trick-or-treating every single year since I was just 30 days old. Even if it was only to one or two of my moms friends houses.. at 17, 18, and 19 I was still trick-or-treating. I was never turned away because I was polite, dressed up, and mindful of the young kids. I was never a bother, I just wanted to hold onto my innocence. At age 20, I became pregnant with my oldest daughter. K started trick-or-treating at 3.5 months old. She is 9 now and still very much into dressing up and going out. I also have C who is only 3.5 and LOVES dressing up.

All I want for my kiddos is to be able to stay kids for as long as they want. That means if K wants to trick-or-treat at 16 years old, you bet your ass I’m helping her with her make up!

Please consider these teenagers when you make the decision – and how much YOU miss trick-or-treating. Let them be kids just a little while longer!

What do you do when teenagers show up at your door?

Published by S.M. Phoenix

I am a Canadian, single mom of two girls, who writes.

Leave a comment